Sometimes You Can’t Make It On Your Own

Watching the storm.

Life is hard.  At this point in my journey, that is an understatement.  Lately, my husband and I have been hit from every direction imaginable, by tiny things that may seem insignificant, to major life tests.  I have been riding on a choppy sea of ups and downs, treading water and trying to stay afloat.  Sometimes I succeed in being buoyant, in keeping a joyful/peaceful spirit, other times I’m choking as the waves beat against me and pull me under into a sea of despair.  One of the ways of escape for me is music.  A lot of my inspiration comes from (BIG GASP!!!!) non “church” music.  U2 has created some of the best soul-searching music of our time.

One of the songs that has been in my head lately is “Sometimes You Can’t Make It on Your Own.”  The first lines of that song describe me pretty accurately.

Tough, you think you’ve got the stuff
You’re telling me and anyone
You’re hard enough

I want to do things on my own.  I can do it myself.  I AM TOUGH!!!

But in reality, I’m just a weakling, doing my best to keep my head above water.  It’s hard for me to admit that I need someone else’s help, when really, I can’t make it on my own.  Can you?

Why do we run from help?  Where does this desire to do everything ourselves come from?  Life is raging around us, our world spinning out of control, and our hands are grasping desperately, holding tightly to anything we can grab on to in order to maintain some type of control.  And that’s the answer.

CONTROL.

Do you have it?  Are you in control?  I’m not.  As hard as I am fighting to keep things in order and to stay afloat, I am slipping.  My weakness is showing, and I don’t like it.  And yet, there is an answer, but it requires letting go of my control and reaching out to someone else.

You don’t have to put up a fight       You don’t have to always be right

Let me take some of the punches       For you tonight

Listen to me now       I need to let you know         You don’t have to go it alone

U2

The apostle Paul was tormented too.  He had the right to cry and complain, but instead he did something crazy.  He boasted about his weakness.  He asked God to take away this thorn, his cause of trouble and weakness, but instead God responded this way:

2Cr 12:9 Each time he said, “My gracious favor is all you need. My power works best in your weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may work through me.
2Cr 12:10 Since I know it is all for Christ’s good, I am quite content with my weaknesses and with insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Can you do it alone?  Paul couldn’t.  I can’t.  I need gracious favor and power that works best in my weakness.  And the really crazy thing?  Paul became CONTENT with his hardships!  I know it will take a lot of work and effort for me to be able to say that.  Because even though I fight it, I am weak.  My hardships, persecutions and calamities are pulling me down, but I must remember, in HIM I am strong!

I can’t make it on my own.  Can you?